Courtney Sheinmel


Lorrie Hollander used to be a rich girl who spent her money on boarding school and equestrian camp. But that was before. It's been twelve years since Lorrie's mother skipped town and left Lorrie and her sister in the care of their unstable Aunt Gigi. Together they live in a decaying mansion called Edgewater, the eyesore in a town of extraordinary wealth and privilege.

While Lorrie is desperately trying to keep her family from collapse, she meets Charlie, the son of an esteemed senator. Terrified that he will learn the truth about her, she holds him at a distance. But Charlie's family is hiding something, too. And Lorrie could never have imagined how their secrets, and their lives, are inextricably bound.

Courtney Sheinmel's Edgewater is a gripping story about scandal and romance, shame and redemption, and how one girl must come to terms with a shocking past in order to understand who she truly is.

Got a question about Edgewater? Email me:


I'll definitely write you back...and I may even answer your question on my blog!

What people are saying:


"Textured, rich, and evocative. Courtney Sheinmel's Edgewater is a profound story of belonging and pretending, and of the ways that the past and present become mysteriously, and sometimes dangerously, intertwined." - Lauren Oliver, New York Times bestselling author of Delirium and Before I Fall

"Edgewater is absolutely extraordinary. Lorrie's house; the squalor, and most especially the disturbing wildcard presence of Aunt Gigi, all serve to convey an atmosphere of shame that is so immediate and resonate, and so masterfully told, you will not be able to put the book down." - Adele Griffin, author of the National Book Award finalists Where I Want to Be and Sons of Liberty

"A terrific read - smart, sexy, and shockingly scandalous. Sheinmel is at her absolute best." - Sarah Mlynowski, author of Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn't Have)

"A deliciously decadent story of glamour, family secrets, and the twisted legacy of a tortured past. In other words, everything I've ever wanted, all in one book." - Robin Wasserman, author of The Waking Dark

Vote for your favorite cover!


"Courtney Sheinmel weaves together elements of a teen summer romance with a hint of Grey Gardens drama. A wonderful book for those that enjoy Sarah Dessen and couldn't put down E. Lockhart's We Were Liars." - Sam Droke-Dickinson, Aaron's Books, Lititz, PA

"Courtney Sheinmel's Edgewater is a great read so full of surprises and twists that I kept saying out loud, 'I didn't see that coming.' With such vivid writing I often felt that I was right there with the main character, Lorrie. I could feel what she felt, see what she saw, hear what she heard and even smell what she smelled. Edgewater will definitely be a YA favorite." - Liane Freed, Watchung Booksellers, Montclair, NJ

"Think: the Kennedys meets We Were Liars meets Scandal. A richly told coming of age story of good intentions and family secrets, I read straight through, enjoying every last detail. This surely is a winner." - Angela Mann, Kepler's Books, Menlo Park, CA

"An intergenerational saga of scandal and secrets, crumbling fortunes and ruined reputations. Great for fans of E Lockhart and Lauren Oliver. Put on your grandma's Chanel and brace yourself for this one." - Cristin Stickles, McNally Jackson, New York, NY


"I stayed up well into the early morning finishing this book, hooked by the depth of Sheinmel's characters... I would suggest pre-ordering this book now if you like a story with complex character relationships, beautiful settings, mystery, or a love for horses." - Rebekkah Koons, Children's Writer's Guild (Full review here.)

"What initially presents itself as a poor-little-rich-girl pastiche and Grey Gardens homage undergoes a rapid metamorphosis into the elegantly tangled tapestry of Lorrie Hollander's unusual existence. Lorrie is used to the finest things in life, thanks to a trust fund set up by a mother who left Lorrie and her sister with their aunt Gigi more than a decade ago. Accustomed to being the caretaker of the family, 17-year-old Lorrie returns home from her summer riding camp when the money apparently runs out. Faced with Gigi's evasiveness and increasing demonstration of mental illness, a sister who cares more about animals than herself, and a huge family home lying in ruins, Lorrie tries to save them all while hiding the depth of the problem from the exclusive enclave of Idlewild. Meanwhile, the son of a powerful political family has taken an interest in her, and the feeling is mutual. With powerful messages of family and self-reliance, Sheinmel's (Sincerely) coming-of-age tale captivates with its masterful storytelling style and intricate detail." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Grey Gardens meets teen family drama. Lorrie Hollander is used to a trust fund that never runs dry and summers at an exclusive horse camp, but everything changes when Lorrie is discharged from camp after her guardian, her erratic aunt, Gigi, neglects to pay the tuition. Crestfallen, Lorrie heads home to Edgewater, the Hollander family estate, once an impressive and elegant home but now fallen to ruin of health-risk proportions and a constant source of shame for Lorrie. When Lorrie confronts her aunt about the missed payment, Gigi, who doesn't care for life's minutiae (like paying the electric bill), tells her she moved the money; its whereabouts are none of Lorrie's concern. However, Lorrie is used to assuming adult responsibility in the absence of competent adult care, and she takes it upon herself to locate the trust fund. Her search reveals family secrets that go much deeper and farther back than the missing money. At times, Lorrie seems more concerned with her budding romance with Charlie, the local senator's heartthrob son, than locating the money (and being able to pay the bills), but she's still a teenager, after all. Astute readers will realize what's going on before Lorrie does, but the how and the why are so intriguing they'll read until way past bedtime. Riveting and heartbreaking." - Kirkus Reviews

"The family-centered political drama will intrigue teens, who will especially appreciate the bond of the sister relationships explored here. This nod to Edith Ewing Bouvier Beale and Edith Bouvier Beale, who were the basis of the multiple versions of Grey Gardens, will inspire teens to do their own research on the enigmatic mother-daughter pair. VERDICT: Recommended for readers who are interested in political thrillers and fans of the television series Scandal." – Donald Peebles, for School Library Journal

Please add Edgewater to your TBR (to-be-read) pile on GoodReads.

Check out the EDGEWATER Pinterest board.

Listen to the EDGEWATER playlist on Spotify.

IndieBound McNally Jackson Autographed copies of EDGEWATER can be ordered through McNally Jackson. You can also get them from online retailers (I recommend IndieBound) or by dropping by your local bookstore!